Young Jeanette Rapp

Jeanette Rapp as a youth.

Jeanette Rapp as a youth.

This is one of the finer photographs that I have been fortunate enough to become curator of since I started this project. It came to me recently from my mother, but I believe it came only recently to her too, as relatives “back East” are gradually going through things that belonged to my grandparents. There is no date given, but my cousin Joe, an expert in historic photo forensics, says given Jeanette’s birth year of 1889 or 1890, he guesses that this might be 1902 or 1903.

As I said before, there is little that I can tell about my great grandmother Jeanette. My mother knew her as Granny Dowell or Nanny Dowell. Here is a photo of her when she was simply Jeanette Rapp, daughter of John Henry Rapp. In this moment her faces glows full of youthful promise. – mdf

Image archive ID:
20150615_001_janette_rapp_youth

About the physical photograph:
written on back:
“Jeanette Rapp Dowell
Mother of John Lewis Dowell Jr.”
Printed on back:
BACHRACH & BRO. PHOTOGRAPHIC STUDIOS
S.E. COR. EUTAW & LEXINGTON STS.
BALTIMORE, MD.
1331 F. ST., N.W.
WASHINGTON, D.C.,
CASCADE STUDIO, CASCADE MD.,
OPEN FROM
JULY 1ST TO SEPT. 10TH

One thought on “Young Jeanette Rapp

  1. Pingback: John Lewis Dowell Sr. (maybe) | Fleagle and Dowell Family History in Photos

Leave a Reply

