Lucinda May Dowell, Mount Rainier, April 1963

Lucinda May Dowell with Matthew and Jenifer Fleagle, 1963

Lucinda May Dowell with Matthew and Jenifer Fleagle, 1963

My Aunt Cindy with me and my sister Jeni at Mount Rainier, 1963. As a kid I always thought this was a photo of us with my mother when I saw it in the family album, so much did my aunt resemble her older sibling. I recall my mother correcting me about this several times as a kid, and I was confused because I didn’t really remember Aunt Cindy. She died of cancer back in Baltimore the year after this photo was taken, and as far as I know this was the only time she ever came out west, and very likely the only time she met her first niece and nephew. Someone else was also fooled, as I’ve recently seen other copies of the photo with my mother’s name on the back.

I’ve always thought of this photo as having been taken at Longmire, which is an old lodge and hot springs down at the foot of the mountain along the Nisqually River, but I no longer remember why I remember it this way. Maybe I associated the rustic structure in the background with one of the outbuildings I’ve seen at Longmire over the years. – mdf

One thought on “Lucinda May Dowell, Mount Rainier, April 1963

  1. Matt, I too was always fooled by this picture and one or two others which showed you and Jeni with Aunt Cindy. So much like Mom. Thanks, I never knew her of course, but there is still that familial love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

